A couple of years ago one of my closest friends was going through a deep struggle in her life. It affect her schedule, her relationships, her outlook on life, her ability to cope, her health….just about everything. It deeply affected her relationship with God and the health of her spiritual life. She was left with questions, doubts, fears, and unknowns. It was then that she made a conscious choose to praise God. Every morning very early she would rise and spend time with God, but the one condition was everything had to be about expressing gratitude. She wouldn’t allow herself to complain, voice requests, or express needs or desires. She turned it all back on God and made him the center of their time together. It changed everything for her!!

Do you cultivate gratitude in your life?

Every morning as I awake I find my mind battling. It wants to think about things and go places that I do not want it to go. My thoughts drift to hurts, unsettled issues, concerns, frustrations, etc. Is that really how I want to start my day? No!

I am learning that I need to create space for gratitude in my life. I need to focus on what I am blessed with and who I am blessed by.

Now as I awake I am trying to immediately think of things that I am grateful for. Some days it is harder than others, at least it is harder to think of new things. It is important to not just focus on the things that we think of easily, but to develop a list that is ever-growing.

Make a list of what you are thankful for.

Make it a point to add 3-5 things to that list each day.

If you have problems thinking of things that you are grateful for turn to the Psalms or Proverbs and ask God to open your heart and your mind to see him more clearly. He gives us so much, but sometimes we need help for our eyes to see and our ears to hear.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

