I had a somewhat oppositional conversation with someone yesterday about sin. Basically because he couldn’t see and understand the sin (which was in my life, not his), he doubted there was sin and wanted to let me off the hook.

Over the last few weeks God has been teaching me a lot about sin and the deception we walk in.

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives. (1 John 1:8-10)

We all sin, and we need to be willing to admit our sin and deal with it. If we are hiding our sin, lying about it, avoiding it, or refusing to address it we are not walking with God and carrying his truth in us. Sin should repulse us and we should want to avoid it at all cost. Sometimes we are not aware of our sin, and we need others to point it out. Do you love those in your life enough to do that? In the conversation I had yesterday he didn’t love me enough, he wanted evidence of my sin and didn’t believe the conviction God had laid on my heart was enough. He wanted to just let me continue on in an unchanged life and not get right with God.

What is most important to you, comfort in your human relations and living with your sin, or living in right relationship with God and dealing with everything that separates you? The choice is up to you!

